Mother’s Day

Today is Mother’s Day and I’m fighting the feeling of guilt. Hard. Maybe it’s because of that deep empathy that I often feel, but I’ve felt guilty enjoying today knowing that there are so many women out there – a lot of them in my own life – who are experiencing today the way we experienced it last year. 

This day was heartbreaking for me last year. Two and a half weeks before was supposed to be our first baby’s due date, then I had to spend that Mother’s Day surrounded by people celebrating the very thing that I knew in my heart I was, but for which I didn’t have proof in my arms. When you have lost a child, or when you long for a child, or when you have lost your mom, Mother’s Day stings. Today, I’m lifting up in prayer the many women in my life who have lost children, who yearn for children, or who have lost their mothers.
In the meantime, I’m going to set guilt aside and enjoy snuggling Cheeks. I am so humbled and thankful to have my heart, and my arms, full this Mother’s Day.

  

Leave a comment